She Was Not Beautiful

Hi! I’ve noticed that I’ve been doing a kind of ghost mode…When I just pass that school entrance like this, everything else just goes on strike. 

It’s been a while- as usual these days- I posted. I want to do the three day quote challenge that my friend Purple Butterfly tagged me in, but I want to brain boot before posting quotes…my quotes have to CHANGE YOUR LIFE!

I’m always happy to open my WordPress, today I’m posting a poem I wrote in honour of mothers. I love my mum, she’s my best friend and I was inspired to write it, not just because of her, but because there has begun to be a norm of unappreciativeness and discontent in the world.

She was not beautiful,

You could not see fine skin.

All you saw were spots

And stretch marks

On stretched skin

That stretched to bear you.

But you could not have known.

She was not beautiful,
Her hands were rough.

You preferred soft hands

That made you want to hold them

whenever you felt them

Those hands held hot coal

To keep you warm in the cold.

But you could not have known.

She was not beautiful,
You could not see fine skin.

All you saw were spots

And stretch marks

On stretched skin

That stretched to bear you.

But you could not have known.

She was not beautiful,
Her hands were rough.

You preferred soft hands

That made you want to hold them

whenever you felt them

Those hands held hot coal

To keep you warm in the cold.

But you could not have known.

She was not beautiful,
Her eyes were twitching.

You felt better with cute eyes,

That made you want to damn it all

And lose yourself in them.

Those eyes saw pain

And decided to see it all

So you never had to see as much.

But you could not have known.

She was not beautiful,
Not really on the outside.

She had made sure that

Even if she didn’t appear refined

She had taken the filth

So you never had to look dirty.

And whenever you threw a tantrum

She only smiled. 

It was not your fault.

You could not have known.

She was not beautiful,

Her eyes were twitching.

You felt better with cute eyes,

That made you want to damn it all

And lose yourself in them.

Those eyes saw pain

And decided to see it all

So you never had to see as much.

But you could not have known.


She was not beautiful,

Not really on the outside.

She had made sure that

Even if she didn’t appear refined

She had taken the filth

So you never had to look dirty.

And whenever you threw a tantrum

She only smiled. 

It was not your fault.

You could not have known.

2 thoughts on “She Was Not Beautiful”

Leave a Reply

