This Innocence they talk about.

I have spoken with some people, after which they told me that I am innocent. 

Okay?

 I ask, is that a good or a bad thing? They say it is good, that I have not been corrupted by the happenings in the world.

I smile.

I have never been a happening babe on campus. Popular, sometimes, but to be in that circle of people who know what’s up? Not me.

One said I am innocent because I’m not ‘loose’, and don’t show signs of becoming so anytime soon.

Okay?

At times I begin to wonder if I sound like an idiot when someone says ‘there’s an innocence about you’. I hear something closer to ‘you haven’t seen the world, you don’t know how it works’.

Here’s the shocker: I have had my fair share of the world, as young as I am, from a little age, I was ‘exposed’ to the blows that life can deal you mercilessly, and if that doesn’t count, I’m seeing more everyday.

So why in the world has it not shown on my face, or in my speech?

I really wonder.

14 thoughts on “This Innocence they talk about.”

  1. What I really I’ve about this is that period have made that same statement about me. However, I don’t always see it as a compliment. Some people say it with a form of indulgent condescension, like giving me a mental pat on the head as one would a puppy. Sometimes it’s dismissive, like my opinion couldn’t possibly count as a result of my “naïveté”. Either way, it’s annoying or maybe I’m just overly sensitive 🤔😞 Nice post👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

