Friends and Owing money

It’s Monday. The title of this post should probably have been something brighter. 

But please. Mondays should be for frank talk and honest opinions, so you can start the week on a very blunt note. And a sharp note too. Because as blunt as it is, it’s a sharp reminder. 

Wow. I’m such a good grammarian. See what I did with word and opposites there? I should teach English one day.

Back to a serious matter.

Why in the world do friends owe?

I’m not talking about people owing money, because that is bound to happen. But what happens when friends have an agreement and fail to honor it?

I think it is outright dishonorable. Right now, two people owe me money. In this economy. Hmn. I s-m-h

And I’m not saying this because I will keep ‘smh‘ing and leave the money for them. Oh no. I made it clear I will be paid back. Now they want to sly me.

Are you a friend who does not keep to agreements or promises, without explanations?

This is a big deal! I saw on a meme one time that if you want to end a friendship, borrow the person money. Why? As friends you should honor your word. I take word of mouth serious, if you say something, (that you were not forced to say, that you said on your own, without duress or fear or the thought that you might die if not said), then honor it!

In as much as we have friends like that: the ones who are not worth the sacrifice we make sometimes, because we end up disadvantaged– Man, as much Jesus as I want to be, only he died for the sins of the world. I can’t do that– we have to make sure we don’t become the type of friends that are not worth it.

It is a conscious effort we have to make as people to be true to ourselves. Do unto others as you would like to be don’t unto. And you know this exceeds money and agreements. Be kind, be respectful.

Amie. Be respectful.

But like I said on Instagram, Jesus was mature, Jesus turned a blind eye, a deaf ear, a dumb mouth to all those backstabbers and loved them the same.I want to be like that.

But if you owe me money, I will come after you. 

Have a great week ahead☺

Much love,

Your Girlfriend.

5 thoughts on “Friends and Owing money”

    1. Aww, Ash ☺ it’s quite sad that people do the same thing, irrespective of the time zones. Please, just be you, and don’t let anyone shut your eyes to the good that you can still do. Thank you for your comment

      Like

Leave a Reply

