what matters is what you see

I started blogging on another blogging app some years back. I couldn’t even stay around my own blog, because of internet connection that I never had. At that time, I could see other bloggers… When you hear Linda Ikeji, Japheth Omojuwa… I could see them, the aim was to be where they were at that time, in no time. Hehe. Like say na beans.

I had this ‘over’ confident friend who was ever willing to let me know that if he said something about a thing, that was what would happen. I always tried to pull him off his high horse. 

Four years down the line, I see that everyone has a lane they take to get to their destinations. You might not be where you would love with all your heart to be, but let life be lived, and in time it will all fall in place. I shut down that blog, but I didn’t shut down my desire to still have a functioning blog and here we are.

I can say with a certainty that I never felt all those years, that in all the time I was trying to start a blog, doing so without knowing who I was at all, and wanting to be ‘verified’ by everyone (as if I was a social media account), would have been a fluke, because there would be no sincerity, and I would wrote with the mind of wanting everyone to agree with me, and even let me be a star in the process- Headlines: famous blogger…

Now that I am here, I learnt that you need to see the truth for yourself sometimes, not because someone has told you it is true, but because you’re willing to let your ego go out the window for learning to take place. I am no Linda Ikeji. I’m no Japheth Omojuwa. But yes please! My name is Amie Sparks. And it took me a great time to realise that. I will not take it for granted.

Who are you?

What do you need to shut down so you can reboot on a higher scale?

Much love,

Your girlfriend.

2 thoughts on “what matters is what you see”

Leave a Reply

